Skip to content

DIY Painted Patterned Rug

February 19, 2013

IMG_20130203_140315We moved into a new house last September. With it came a new roommate and the mishmash of furniture that happens when six people live together. While the living room has certainly been functional, the lack of color and design has bothered me and I’ve been slowly working to add more to the room. I started by spray painting half of the basket that holds our multitude of blankets red. Then I switched up the art and made a very crude gallery wall, with a giant Labyrinth poster as the centerpiece (Haven’t seen the movie? You’re missing out). I saw a rug painting tutorial on Apartment Therapy, and knew it was the perfect way to improve our Ikea via Craigslist rug. It is definitely bold, but I love the results. The other tutorial still left me to noodle out many of the details on my own, so I wanted to provide some additional instruction.

Materials:

  • rug (Mine is Ikea via Craigslist, but I can’t find the exact one online. It’s cheap for sure)
  • duct tape
  • paint (I used Valspar Cherry Red Latex Paint)
  • throw cloth
  • X-acto knife
  • paint brush
  • measuring tape

1. I started by measuring the rug and determining the pattern I wanted. My rug was 7.5′ x 5′, and I wanted to repeat the criss cross pattern 5 times. I found the center of the rug, broke the rug up into 15 .5′ sections, then made my crosses 1.5′ each.

2. After planning the pattern out on paper, I went to the rug. I measured the sides and marked the spots where each one of the lines would start/end. On the paper pattern below you can see that is the .5′ mark, 1′ mark, 2′ mark, 2.5′ mark, and on for the left and right sides, plus the middle mark for the top and bottom.

3. After the sides were marked I used big pieces of duct tape to make the pattern. I started by sticking the end to the left side of the rug, rolling out enough to make it across, and then finding the correct marker on the right side of the rug. So for instance the first line started at the .5′ mark on the left side of the rug, and ended at the 2′ mark on the other side of the rug. Once it was oriented I went back and really pressed the duct tape down.

4.  Once the whole X pattern was taped down I made the inner diamonds. I used about 1′ of duct tape as my measure, put it down against the X, and then taped out the 4 sides of the diamond.

5.  With the diamonds in place I went over the corners of each one and used the X-acto knife to clean them up. Be careful not to cut too deep, you just want to cut your tape not the rug fibers.  Make sure one last time that all your tape is firmly pressed down.

6.  Now….painting! I used latex paint (Valspar Cherry Red) leftover from another project. I did one coat, let it dry overnight, then did a second in the morning. Then it dried for another 12 hours and I took off the tape. Just to be safe I waited until the following morning to put it back in the room.

This is definitely not the kind of project to spend a lot or money on, but it has a big impact. Now, on to making throw pillows for that monstrous couch we inherited with the house.

The room and rug before painting.

The room and rug before painting (Hi Brendan!).

The design mapped out (inner diamonds not shown)

The design mapped out (inner diamonds not shown)

I didn't get any photos of the X-taping process, but if you have any questions let me know! Here it is complete.

I didn’t get any photos of the X-taping process, but if you have any questions let me know! Here it is complete.

I used a short piece of tape to align the diamonds.

I used a short piece of tape to align the diamonds.

I used an X-Acto knife to clean up the diamond corners (careful not to cut the rug!)

I used an X-Acto knife to clean up the diamond corners (careful not to cut the rug!)

The completed tape design. For a split second I thought "I could just leave this with the duct tape!" Ha.

The completed tape design. For a split second I thought “I could just leave this with the duct tape!” Ha.

I put a drop cloth under the rug and put on 2 coats of paint, letting it dry overnight between coats.

I put a drop cloth under the rug and put on 2 coats of paint, letting it dry overnight between coats.

After the second coat dried  for 12 hours I ripped off the tape! It was very satisfying.

After the second coat dried for 12 hours I ripped off the tape! It was very satisfying.

Our remarkably more interesting living room.

Our remarkably more interesting living room.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi permalink
    February 19, 2013 6:34 pm

    That’s awesome!!!! Nice work Tori!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

