Skip to content

Blackberry Jam

August 22, 2011

Delicious berries, vicious thorns.

This weekend I finally got around to an item that has been on my to-do list for a while: make jam.  The process started last weekend when I discovered that a large section of the Burke-Gilman trail by Lake Union has hundreds of blackberry bushes growing alongside it. They are free for anyone to pick, so yesterday my roommates were nice enough to accompany me on a blackberry picking adventure.  I was glad of this because blackberry bushes are quite thorny and painful, and I would have given up picking on my own far before we had a jam-worthy amount. This was the most laborious part of the process though, the jam making itself wasn’t too difficult. I doubled this recipe, but only used 3/4 the amount of sugar it calls for (and I used a 2:1 ratio of white sugar:raw sugar).  And the result is delicious.  If you were wary of making jam I highly recommend it;  especially if you don’t pick the fruit yourself its not very labor intensive and so rewarding.

Pre-jammed berries

To me, scones are the ideal jam vehicle. They are far more ladylike than spoons.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Judi permalink
    August 22, 2011 7:52 pm

    That’s so fun! I’ve made jams and relish. All time consuming but well worth the work. Let me know if you want my green tomato relish recipe. When the cold weather hits you can buy green tomatoes for very little and they make a great relish. Love you!!

Leave a Reply

