Skip to content

Sun-Dried Tomatoes

October 21, 2011

I know what you’re thinking….but sadly, no, I did not make my own sun-dried tomatoes (it’s on my 2012 Summer To Do list).  But, I have been eating a lot of sun-dried tomatoes recently. I have a giant jar of them, and I’ve just found myself putting them in more and more dishes.  With a summer over and a lack of good fresh tomatoes, I’ve found the sun-dried version a delicious and autumn-appropriate substitute. Here are a few sun-dried tomato recipes that have found their way into my tummy recently:

Bagel with sun-dried tomato cream cheese:  Sometime soon after I realized I could make my own salad dressing instead of buying it in a bottle, I realized that if I wanted flavored cream cheese I could just add ingredients to the plain cream cheese I already had (revolutionary, right?). My go to is some chopped scallions, but minced sun-dried tomatoes are a new staple (especially since they have a much longer shelf life).

Sun-dried tomatoes in sandwiches: Another baffling concept, eh? This is not new or original, but I’d forgotten how good it could be. Today’s lunch was a panini with wheat bread, Muenster, turkey, minced sun-dried tomatoes, spinach, and stone ground mustard.  Simple but awesome.

Pork Chops with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Spinach: This is a favorite recipe that I’ve made a handful of times.  I will warn you though, it is not easy. The pork chops take way longer than you think to cook and the filling starts to ooze out while you try your best to cook them through without ending up with pork bricks.  Every time during the cooking process I curse myself for making them again. Then I sit down to a dinner of the most delicious pork chops and I forget everything about the troubles beforehand.  And then the cycle repeats.

Sun-dried tomato photo courtesy of here

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

