Skip to content

The Portland Bazaar

December 12, 2011

While the weather in Portland this weekend was dismal, I still felt we got a good feel for the city in the 36 hours we were there. The Portland Bazaar was a great success, bringing together the best of Portland’s artisans, restaurants, and crafting experts. I took a 1 hour glass etching class which was fun and informative, and by luck ran into Grace Bonney, the founder of the amazing blog Design*Sponge and author of Design*Sponge at Home.  Thankfully I was prepared for such an occurence, and had my copy of the book handy which Grace signed for me (!!!!!!!!!!).

Other highlights from Portland were the Saturday Flea Market, Powell’s City of Books (it’s 3 stories with over 1M books), and Rejuvenation (a lighting and housewares store).  We ate dinner Saturday night at Toro Bravo, a very well reviewed tapas restaurant in the more industrial side of town. The wait was long and there was not much else in the area to entertain us, but the food was great and incredibly affordable. The only item we thought was lacking was the sangria, so I would spring for a cocktail instead next time. A great first trip to Portland, and I’m looking forward to visiting this summer to see the many gardens and ride my bike around.

Cool heads on the corners of the Bazaar building.

I met Grace Bonney and she signed my book!!!!

A sweet mantle and saw decoration at Rejuvenation. If anyone has a giant saw blade lying around, I would like it for my wall.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

