Skip to content

The Big Short

January 6, 2012

This week I powered through The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine by Michael Lewis. It was the first Michael Lewis book I have read, as well as the first book of financial history that I’ve ever attempted.  I’ll be the first to admit that finance is not my strongest subject nor one I am innately drawn to, but I felt I should have at least a surface-level understanding of what happened in 2008.  The Big Short describes what led to the financial crisis and subsequent government bailout of 2008, but from the point of view of the few who saw it coming (and became rich because of it).  While I’m still scratching my head over some of the concepts, I feel that I can now basically explain how the crisis was formed, and was kept engaged throughout the full 250 pages. Even for those who wouldn’t normally pick up this kind of book, I would definitely recommend it as an introduction to the biggest financial crisis some have lived through.

Photo courtesy of here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

