Skip to content

Double Reuse

April 17, 2012

Whenever I’m baking or cooking with a recipe that calls for an uneven ratio of egg yolks to egg whites, I hate having to compost the unused half. And then I double hate coming across a recipe that calls for just yolks when I made one with just whites recently, or vice versa. I’ve tried various ways of freeing the eggs and yolks, but until yesterday did not have a solution that I liked. I’ve heard of using ice-cube trays, but I don’t have any extra lying around.  I’ve used plastic bags, but I’m trying to cut down on my use of those. Once I used shot glasses for egg yolks, but that wasn’t very practical. Then yesterday I was staring at 2 egg whites wondering how I should save them when I remembered that I had little condiment containers saved from take out! They are the perfect size for a white/yolk, easy to label (I used masking tape), and make removing the egg so simple. Problem: solved.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

