Skip to content

Dinner Inspiration: The Pantry

May 22, 2012

Even though spring produce is making its way into markets, I’ve still been relying on my pantry for a little variation, or an answer to dinner when I can’t be bothered to go shopping.

Red Kidney Bean Curry and Indian Rice (Vegetarian): This dish is surprising complex and satisfying, despite the fact that you probably have most of the ingredients in your kitchen right now. The only change I made was to use a can of tomatoes instead of a fresh tomato. I’m not a frequent recipe repeater, and in the few weeks since I made this I’ve thought about it again and again. It’s that good.

Warm French Lentils (Vegetarian): These lentils with a good loaf of bread and butter can be a very satisfying meal.  I’d like to try them again soon with some sausage on the side. I had trouble getting my garlic cloves to stay in the onion, so I let them float freely in the broth and just fished them out at the end. I also left out the turnip, which seemed unnecessary.

Nutty Granola Bars: I know this is not a dinner, but one of these bars as a snack will get you through that late afternoon stretch of hunger . In an effort to reduce the number of things in my house that are processed and packaged, I realized some of the few things I buy pre-wrapped are snacks. These bars are so simple (measure wet ingredients, measure dry ingredients, mix, bake), composed entirely of pantry ingredients, and endlessly adaptable.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

