Skip to content

Breakfast Inspiration

April 22, 2013

For dinner I like to experiment regularly with new recipes, but when it comes to breakfast I tend to rely on favorites I can roll out of bed and make. I’ve made all of these for lazy weekend days and also morning entertaining with great success.

Multigrain Waffles – I have made these 5 times the past month. They are that good. Easy, not too sweet, filling, and sturdy enough to save and reheat another day. I’ve been topping with bananas and maple syrup (or just butter and jam on work days), but will certainly be branching out once more spring and summer fruit ripens. As to the flours I usually use a mix of whatever I have on hand, and at the most basic use a 1:1 ratio of white:wheat.

Baked Oatmeal – In the winter I made this with apples, cranberries and bananas. This month I would definitely go with rhubarb and strawberries! It is heavenly topped with a little maple syrup and saves well to be reheated.

Rhubarb Streusel Muffins – After discovering its virtues last year, I’ve been looking forward to the appearance of rhubarb in the market  for months. These muffins are wholesome and just a bit sweet. If you are looking for something a bit more indulgent and picnic worthy though, this rhubarb snacking cake is also excellent.

The Best Buttermilk Pancakes – These pancakes are truly fantastic. My only warning is that the recipe makes a small batch, about enough for two people.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

