Skip to content

Dinner Inspiration: February

February 22, 2012

A few recipes that have been warming the cornbread kitchen this February:

Crunchy Baked Pork Chops: These were a bit labor intensive, but juicy and flavorful.  I also made Smitten Kitchen’s Swiss Chard and Sweet Potato Gratin to go with the chops. I halved the recipe since I was certainly not feeding 12, and used some parsnips as well as the sweet potatoes, because they were on the verge of going bad. Also, parsnips make everything better. Fact.

Baked Falafel with Lemon Tahini Sauce (Vegetarian): Easy, vegetarian, and baked! So even healthier than normal.  Falafel is one of my favorite foods, but I’m usually disappointed by it in restaurants.  This recipe isn’t quite perfect, but definitely on the way there. I’ll try a few more falafel recipes and report back (or do you have a good one to share??).

Thai Coconut Curry Soup:  I’ve been craving all things Thai lately. I made this with leftover ingredients from an almost successful Pad Thai attempt.  It was easy and delicious, but definitely tasted better after sitting for a bit.  I also found this cooking method made for dry chicken, so I would cook the chicken separately and just add it in at the end to warm (or use some leftover chicken or other meat, or no meat at all).

No comments yet

Leave a comment